i’ve been in advertising too long when…

my description of an item on Craigslist for $20 reads as follows:

“Experience the rustic warmth of this small and oval-shaped dark wood copper-colored table. Versatile in function – perfect next to a bed, as an accent piece in a living room, or to hold a plant. Fits in just about any spot you need a little table!”

This was actually one of the most delightful experiences selling an item that I’ve ever had. After having been turned down because a woman’s husband “didn’t like the style” of this table, I was mildly bummed, but it wasn’t long before I had another interested customer; however, it was much to my surprise that she was 12 years old.

Her mom was letting her redecorate her room, and she just fell in love with this cute little table! Even cuter is that she paid for it with her own money. Way to go girl!

This table started off in almost perfect condition. Except.For.One.Thing. That i could not live with. A chip.

This led to my first project using wood filler. I went to Home Depot and bought some Elmer’s Wood Filler. I filled in the hole, and sanded to a smooth finish. But I still had a problem. The wood filler was a different color than the table. This is when I knew it was time to paint this bad boy.

I decided to use a color that was close to the shade of the wood. I used Rust-Oleeum Metallic Accents Warm Copper, from Menards. I had been wanting to use something with a metallic shimmer in it ever since I saw Martha Stewart’s metallic paints. This is probably why an adult man rejected this table while a 12 year old girl loved it.

BEFORE

AFTER

SOLD FOR $20.

Leave a Reply

