Suddenly The Hinges Started To Unhitch

The title comes from a song in The Wizard of Oz, and describes what happened with this piece. Be forewarned: it gets stuck in your head. 🙂

I thought it was going to be one of those super easy fixes that most people don’t realize simply entails the use of a screwdriver. But this hinge and I, we went to war. It was positively unhitched! I spent hours with my screwdriver trying to properly attach it, and it just.would.not.work.

So, I thought new hardware might be the answer. I raced to Menards, with the screwed-up screw in my pocket, to look for a similar one. However, when i got there, I realized for just a few bucks, I could buy all new hardware and really give this piece a spruce up. So I did! Such a small thing really has an amazing effect on making a piece look clean and modern.

I did nothing to the surface, because I thought it looked charming as is.

BEFORE

AFTER

SOLD FOR $40.

Leave a Reply

